Cooking With The Lewis Sisters

A Blog of Recipes We Love and Enjoy!

Homemade Red Velvet Cake! July 21, 2012

Filed under: Cakes,Dessert,Grandma D. — lewissisters @ 8:54 pm

I love red velvet cake. I have always wanted to make it from scratch, because I thought it would be really fun to do. This recipe comes from our grandma D’s ward cookbook; although, it is not her recipe. A while back, my dad was reading some of the recipe titles and red velvet cake was in the list. I knew then, I had to make it.

The cake is really easy to make and it looks even better. Don’t you just love how red the batter is? (Don’t’ worry; I know it’s just me who likes the color). Here are a couple modifications I made. Rather than use the “Classic red velvet frosting” that was in the book, I made my own cream cheese frosting. I always love cream cheese frosting on red velvet cake. They seem to go together; kind of like peanut butter and chocolate.

I have a severe dislike of wasting food. I hate how the buttermilk comes in huge containers and after one cup; you throw it away because it’s gone bad in the refrigerator. So, I did some research and learned you can make your own buttermilk substitute. It is really easy and you don’t have to feel guilty about throwing away food. When I tried the cake, it was super moist and a nice way to end the day!

Red Velvet cake

Step 1. Make paste out of :

2 Tbsps Hershey’s cocoa

2 1 ounce bottles red food coloring

and 1/2 tsp salt

Step 2. Mix 1/2 cup melted butter, (1 stick)

1 and 1/2 cups sugar

2 eggs, and set aside.

Step 3. In another bowl add:

1 cup buttermilk (See below for buttermilk substitute)

2 and 1/2 cups sifted cake flour (I used all purpose flour. Try all purpose gluten free baking flour.)

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp vinegar

Combine steps 1 and 2 and mix them. Then add step 3 and mix. The batter will be thin.

Then, grease an flour a 9-13 inch glass dish and bake for 30 minutes at 350. Frost with red velvet frosting.

Here is the red velvet frosting, if you want to try it.

Red Velvet Frosting:

mix in saucepan:

5 Tbsps flour

1 cup milk.

Stir over medium heat until thick and gooi. Cool completely. Then add:

1/2 cup butter and 1 cup sugar.

Beat on high speed for no less than 15 minutes.

Buttermilk Substitute

1 cup plain milk (any kind such as: 1% 2% or skim)

1 Tbsp vinegar or fresh lemon juice

Pour vinegar/lemon juice in a glass measuring cup. Add milk until it reaches the 1 cup line. Let mixture stand five to ten minutes. Mixture will begin to thicken. Then you are ready to add it to your recipe. This makes 1 cup of buttermilk.

The cream cheese frosting is the same frosting I used on the Pumpkin Bundt Cakes, a few posts ago.

Enjoy!

20121006-115654.jpg

20121006-115700.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

