Cooking With The Lewis Sisters

A Blog of Recipes We Love and Enjoy!

Soft Ginger Cookies January 28, 2013

Filed under: Cookies,Dessert — lewissisters @ 2:57 am

imageHere is another recipe from Grandma D’s ward cookbook. When I made these cookies they were full of flavor and very yummy. If you want an easy recipe for amazing ginger cookies, I have it right here for you.
This is not one of grandma’s recipes, but as usual, her friends did not let me down, with another fantastic recipe.
I forgot to roll the cookies in sugar. ha-ha! I will next time because I’m sure they will be even more amazing with the sugar coating. Sorry about the crowded cookies, I put them to close on my cookie sheet; they stuck together. These cookies will not disappoint!

Soft Ginger Cookies
Cream together:
¾ cup shortening
1 cup sugar
Add:
1 egg, beaten
4 Tbsps molasses
Sift and add to above ingredients:
2 Tbsps baking soda
2 cups flour (all purpose gluten free baking flour)
½ tsp salt
1 Tbsp ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
Form into balls, smaller than walnuts. Roll in sugar. Place on cookie sheet about 2 inches apart.
Bake 8-10 minutes at 350 degrees.
Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

