Cooking With The Lewis Sisters

A Blog of Recipes We Love and Enjoy!

Kara’s Homemade Biscuits March 24, 2013

Filed under: Kara,Quick Breads,Side Dishes — lewissisters @ 3:27 pm

It’s been awhile since I have posted. Life has gotten crazy with school. I am so glad there are only a few weeks left of this semester. I am ready for another break; writing papers is driving me crazy.
The other thing besides exercising and playing my drums that makes me happy is cooking. This week; however, that has not happened. I have had tons of work and I am not feeling well. Luckily, I have a solution; I have been saving this recipe for just this type of occasion.
Kara is back with another fantastic recipe. Have you ever wanted to make homemade biscuits? I did, and Kara had the most amazing recipe for the job. She said out of all the biscuit recipes she has tried, this recipe is the best and turns out every time. I am not an expert at making and kneading homemade dough, but the biscuits turned out great! I was able to make a dozen biscuits. I used a glass because I don’t have a biscuit cutter. If I can succeed, so can you. Give this recipe a try. You will love it!
(If you do not have cream of tartar, don’t worry. The recipe works fine without it.)
As always, Kara, you totally rock! Thanks for the recipe!
Southern Gal Biscuits
(This comes from “Favorite Recipes from Quilters)
Makes 6 large biscuits
2 cups flour (gluten free all purpose baking flour)
4 tsps baking powder
½ tsp salt
2 Tbsps sugar
½ tsp cream of tartar (the recipe works without it)
½ cup shortening (You can use 1 stick butter,. It works great, just be sure to soften it in the microwave.)
¾ cup milk
1 egg, beaten
1. Preheat oven to 450. In a large bowl, whisk dry ingredients together.
2. Cut in shortening or butter until pieces are small and mixed in well.
3. Add milk and egg. Stir till everything is just incorporated. The dough will be stiff. Don’t overmix. Knead the dough 3 or 4 times to get it all consistent.
4. Roll out on a floured surface to a 1 inch thickness. Cut with a biscuit or cookie cutter. Place on a sprayed cookie sheet.
5. Bake at 450 for 10-15 minutes. (Check at 10 minutes.)
6. Serve them with butter and jam or honey. Or better yet, honey butter.
Enjoy!
image

 

Leave a Reply

