Cooking With The Lewis Sisters

A Blog of Recipes We Love and Enjoy!

Happy Anniversary with Rice Krispy Treats! May 19, 2013

Filed under: Dessert,Kara,Snacks — lewissisters @ 6:55 pm

Happy One Year Anniversary to the Blog!
First off, I can’t believe it has been a year since we started this little blog.
Next, I would like to thank all of you who follow this blog and make these recipes. I know I am not a religious blogger and posts are randomly added, when I have time to cook amid everyday life. Thanks to all the family and friends who have sent me recipes to make and post. I couldn’t do it without you. This has been an amazing year with amazing food.
I hope you continue to follow our adventures. There will be many more to come with more fantastic recipes! Let me give a shout out to any new readers, welcome and thanks for reading!
For the one year anniversary post, I wanted to make a simple treat, this happens to be one of my favorite snacks. I’m talking about rice krispy treats!
Kara gave me this recipe; it only has a few ingredients. If you’re wondering how I made the treats Disney, I bought cookie cutters when we were in Disneyland a few months ago. They are: Mickey’s head and hand, and a star. I just stuck them in the rice krispies when they were cooled. It helps to have a little water on them, or spray them with cooking spray, so they don’t stick. I thought it would be a great surprise for my niece and nephew, they are so cute and they love anything Disney.
UPDATE! (2015) our family friend who owns a restaurant told my parents the orriginal Rice Krispies cereal is not gluten free like we thought. I did some research and found this new gluten free Rice Krispies ceareal. I am sure this recipe will work with the gluten free cereal.
http://www.ricekrispies.com/products/rice-krispies-gluten-free-cereal
image
Rice Krispy Treats
4 and ½ cups (or a little more) of mini marshmallows or 40 large ones
3 Tbsps butter
1/2 tsp vanilla
6 cups rice cereal
Heat butter and marshmallows till bubbly and melted. Remove from heat. Add vanilla. Stir in cereal. Mix till coated. Put into a buttered 9 by 13 inch pan. Press down to make even with wet hands to keep it from sticking. Let cool. (You could also drizzle with chocolate)
Enjoy and Happy Anniversary!

 

Leave a Reply

