Cooking With The Lewis Sisters

A Blog of Recipes We Love and Enjoy!

Snickerdoodles August 5, 2013

Filed under: Cookies,Dessert,Grandma D. — lewissisters @ 1:06 am

imageDessert this week comes from Grandma D. It is her recipe for Snickerdoodles. When my dad and I were at the grocery store, the following question came up: “What will we have for dessert?” I didn’t have anything in mind, so I started listing things I could make. When I mentioned Snickerdoodles, my dad said: “That is it.” We haven’t made Grandma’s Snickerdoodles in awhile, but I knew they would turn out great. The cookies are light, the cinnamon sugar is fantastic and best of all, the house smells wonderful.
I kept thinking of Grandma when I was making these. I hope she is proud. These cookies will not disappoint.

Snickerdoodles

Mix together:
1 cup shortening
1 and 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
Sift together and stir in:
2 and 3/4 cups sifted flour (gluten free all purpose baking flour)
2 tsps cream of tartar
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
Chill dough for 1 hour. (I like to put the dough on wax paper, so it doesn’t stick and it’s easier to work with).
Roll dough into small balls about the size of a walnut. Roll in mixture of 2 Tbsps sugar and 2 Tbsps cinnamon.
Bake on ungreased cookie sheets until lightly brown. About 8-10 minutes in a 400 degree oven.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

