Cooking With The Lewis Sisters

A Blog of Recipes We Love and Enjoy!

Blog Update December 4, 2014

Hi friends!
I hope you are having a great holiday season. I would like to let you know about some updates on the blog.
The recipes are now categorized! I apologize if it is confusing.
When we started writing the blog we combined a few of our meals to feature main dishes and desserts, or other combinations. Do to these combinations; some meals may be in the wrong categories.
We now have a “Gluten free” category! I am very excited about this category; I will be placing gluten free recipes there. A lot of our previous meals are not gluten free (because I was not eating gluten free a couple years ago). Now that I am eating gluten free; I have gone back and added changes to make the previous recipes gluten free.
The following are some changes to recipes I have made.
Gluten Free Bisquick:
The “Chicken Dumpling Casserole” uses Bisquick. Recently, I discovered there is Gluten Free Bisquick, this excites me very much!
Gluten free Bisquick is amazing; we use it for anything that requires Bisquick and it turns out perfect every time. I love to have homemade waffles and pancakes using the Bisquick. Here is another recipe, try our Streusel Coffee Cake; it is delicious!
All purpose gluten free baking flour:
We have cakes, cookies, and quick breads made from scratch. For everything minus yeast breads like the “Breadsticks for Kids” and “Meg’s Cinnamon Rolls” substitute the amount of flour (listed in the recipes) with all purpose gluten free baking flour.
I buy all purpose gluten free baking flour at my local grocery store in the Gluten Free Section. On the package it says the flour is perfect for baking; however, it will not work with yeast breads.
(Stay tuned for an amazing gluten free cornbread coming next month. I use all purpose baking flour and unsweetened vanilla almond milk.)
Below are some tips I have learned to help us Gluten Free eaters out. It is not much, but perhaps it will help you, if you are struggling to find gluten free foods.
Breakfast, I love to eat the following:
Oatmeal, bacon and eggs, omelet’s, and cereal: KIX, Corn Flakes, Crispix, and any of the CHEX brand (I love the cinnamon flavor). I also love gluten free waffles with jam or jelly, nutella or even better, a gluten free waffle peanut butter and jelly, honey, or Nutella and Raspberry sandwich (breakfast, lunch or dinner).
Snacks and dinner:
I love cookies and thanks to our friend Annette, I have found an amazing mock Oreo cookie that tastes exactly like the real thing! The cookies are called Glutino’s; they are fantastic!
I have also found premade cookies and crackers, and cookie, cake and brownie mixes in my grocer’s gluten free section.
I like to eat popcorn and potato chips too.
I am lucky because I am able to eat corn (I know some people must be careful about that). I love Tortilla chips and corn tortillas for all my favorite Mexican dishes.
I love to eat rice, gluten free pasta, baked and sweet potatoes and salads for dinner.
I love making lettuce wraps and using big leaves of ice burg lettuce for hamburger buns.
Breading chicken and topping things that use bread crumbs with crushed corn flakes works like a charm.
Papa Murphy’s Take ‘N’ Bake Pizza has a wonderful gluten free pizza crust. I love this pizza crust because it tastes exactly like a regular pizza crust. I also love Papa Murphy’s because you can customize pizzas to your liking.
http://www.papamurphys.com/
Trader Joe’s is a grocery store that has some wonderful gluten free foods. They also feature other items from around the world. One item in particular, I have heard people rave about is cookie butter. (I tried cookie butter once and it was really good) Go check out a store if you have never been in. We have found some awesome gluten free cookies : Gingersnaps (brought to me by aunt Janet) and Joe Joe’s which is a gluten free orreo cookie.
http://www.traderjoes.com/
Two and a half years ago, my parents and I switched to Almond Milk and we love it! I eat almond milk with my cereal. I also use it when I am baking; however, when savory recipes call for milk, we use regular milk. That may be obvious, but I wanted to clarify.

Eating gluten free requires reading ingredient labels to ensure you are eating food that is safe. Be sure to read carefully when shopping for gluten free food.
This is all I can come up with so far. If I think of anything else, I will update this post.
Thanks for coming along on our food journey! We appreciate all our family, friends and the trusty internet for helping us obtain recipes to cook and share.
Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

