Cooking With The Lewis Sisters

A Blog of Recipes We Love and Enjoy!

Reflections May 19, 2015

Happy Third anniversary to the blog!
We would like to thank you for reading our blog and making our recipes. We are delighted to post such yummy food for you all.
A lot has happened since we started the blog.
My sister got married and had a baby.
I graduated from college and began serving a Church Service Mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
May 19th is important to me, not just because of our blog’s birthday but this year marks the one year anniversary of my mission.
I thought I would explain what a mission is, for those who don’t know. A mission for our church is usually 18 months (for girls) or two years (for boys). Girls serve at 19 and boys at 18; you can also serve in your mid 20’s like me.
A regular mission is when you are called to give service to the Lord and those around you; the goal being that you become selfless like Jesus Christ. Missionaries live away from their families while they serve (out of state is usually thee occurrence), they abide by a schedule that includes prayer and scripture study, along with service to the people they live amongst.
A Church Service Mission is a little different. A CSM (Church Service Missionary) has the opportunity to live at home (if they choose). The mission can last for a few months or as long as the CSM wishes. The CSM gives service to the Lord but it can be on a Monday through Friday basis; depending on where they are serving.
From my own experience, serving as a CSM has been a life changing opportunity. I am able to serve the Lord and strengthen my Spirituality every day. I serve with some incredible people who have become dear friends. I have met some incredible blind people internationally; working on a project collecting oral Histories and records from blind Latter-Day Saints.
I know all missionaries feel the same. Serving the Lord is a great honor; this service provides us with life-changing experiences; helping us become better people and members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
I hope you do not mind my reflections above, but I felt they needed to be shared.
We thank our family for the support as we chart our life courses.
Come back in a few days… Our recipe for May is going to knock your socks off! It is loaded with chocolate and Gluten Free as always.
See you then!
The Lewissisters

 

Leave a Reply

