Cooking With The Lewis Sisters

A Blog of Recipes We Love and Enjoy!

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Banana Cookies Gluten Free May 25, 2015

Filed under: Cookies,Dessert,Gluten Free — lewissisters @ 3:03 pm

Hi guys!
Originally, I planned to make a chocolate cake; however, when my dad and I were looking at the recipe we realized we do not have the right equipment for the job.
I needed to make something with chocolate to fulfill my promise in the previous post; so I thought of this recipe. It is full of chocolate, bananas (which is great because we had some bananas that needed to be used), and better yet it’s a portable dessert; easy to eat on the go.
The recipe is for chocolate chip banana oatmeal cookies. My mom got this recipe from a colleague at her work. The cookies are simple to make and they taste just like the name says. You get a little of each flavor in every bite.
I wanted to try almond flour for this recipe. This is my first attempt using almond flour; here are a few things I noticed.
First, almond flour smells like all-purpose flour, I found that interesting.
Second, the almond flour has a grainy texture; it is not smooth like all-purpose flour.
Finally, I learned almond flour makes things crumbly, if you do not use xanthan gum. The cookies turned into granola once I scraped them off the greased cookie sheets. I took the picture of the second batch of cookies when I saw the first batch crumble under my spatula.
Even though the cookies look like a crumbly mess on the plate where they reside now, they taste wonderful!! I am not sure how other gluten free flours will work; I will have to experiment to see what is best.
Even though the cookies turned into granola, I hope you try them because they are delicious!

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Banana Cookies

  
Bake at 375 degrees for 12-15 minutes.
1 and 1/2 cups flour (gluten free baking flour)
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1 egg
1 and 3/4 cups oats (old fassioned)
1 bag semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used about ¾ cup)
1 cup sugar
1 scant tsp salt
3/4 cup shortening
1 cup very ripe mashed bananas (about 2 bananas)
Cream shortening and sugar together. Then add egg and mashed bananas and mix well.
Sift dry ingredients together and mix into sugar, shortening, egg and banana mixture.
Add oats and chocolate chips. Mix well. Grease cookie sheet with crisko and put a teaspoon of cookie dough on cookie sheet.
Bake for 12-15 minutes. When cookies are a little brown on top and around edges they are finished.
Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

