Cooking With The Lewis Sisters

A Blog of Recipes We Love and Enjoy!

Chocolate Coconut Clusters Gluten Free! March 7, 2016

Filed under: Cookies,Dessert,Gluten Free,Grandma D. — lewissisters @ 5:25 pm

Surprise, we’re back!
I know we do not post regularly, but I had to share a five ingredient recipe that is very special to our family.
Over the weekend I decided to make one of Grandma D’s recipes. Last week, I emailed our cousins Amy, Angie, Niki and Ashley to see if they remembered Grandma making it; they said no, they never knew this recipe existed. They encouraged me to try it and let them know how things went. I was not about to let a month go by before trying the recipe; I had to try it as soon as possible.
Once I ensured the ingredients were measured and ready to go, I enlisted my dad as my assistant. Recently, we remodeled our kitchen and I have not adapted our new cook top so I can use it myself. It was fun having my dad help make the chocolate coconut clusters. He made sure the chocolate mixture was melted and the remaining ingredients were coated in chocolate. Then, he spooned the mixture on the wax paper for me. I knew if I tried to do that it would have taken a long time to complete and the mixture would have ceased to work.
Grandma’s recipe was a success and a hit!
I hope you give it a try!
Chocolate Coconut Clusters

IMG_7785

6 ounces chocolate chips (3/4 cup)
1/3 cup butter
16 large marshmallows
1 cup coconut
2 cups oats

Directions
Line two cookie sheets with wax paper and set aside.
On low heat, using a medium saucepan stir butter and marshmallows until melted; add chocolate and stir until the mixture is combined and the chocolate is completely melted.
Remove the pan from the heat; stir in coconut and oats.
Using two spoons drop the Chocolate Coconut Clusters onto the wax paper.
Put cookie sheets in the fridge so the Chocolate Coconut Clusters can cool and set.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

