Cooking With The Lewis Sisters

A Blog of Recipes We Love and Enjoy!

Cranberry Bread December 4, 2016

Filed under: Breakfast,Gluten Free,Quick Breads,Snacks — lewissisters @ 5:30 am

Hi guys!
I had no plan to post a recipe this month; allowing all of us time to enjoy the holidays, but “‘tis the season for cranberries”! I found a festive quick bread in my recipes and simply had to share it with you all! This recipe comes from one of my mom’s ward cookbooks; it is a recipe for cranberry bread.

I like the fact that this recipe is one you can make entirely by hand, no need for your mixers. You know me, I also love quick breads! The verdict on this bread is an interesting one; the bread is great but I had a couple difficulties with it.

First, the bread was too moist so it did not come out of the pan all the way; some of the bread stuck to the pan. The picture looks funny, or as I like to call it, rustic and homemade.

Second, if you cannot find fresh/frozen cranberries at your grocery store, you may decide to use jelly, like me. However, I must caution you to not use the entire can like I did; this made the bread way to moist. I would suggest maybe half a cup or one cup at the most if using jelly. If you are using regular cranberries use the full amount. Once again, the bread is delicious; do not be afraid to try it.

Happy holidays from us to you!

 

Cranberry Bread


1 cup sifted flour (gluten free plus 1 Tbsp)

1 cup sugar

1 and 1/2 tsps baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

¼ cup butter, softened

1 egg

1 tsp grated orange peal

¾ cup orange juice (I bought orange juice in a bottle to be sure I had enough)

1 and 1/2 cups craisins

1 and 1/2 cups fresh or frozen cranberries chopped (I used cranberry jelly with whole berries in it because my grocery store did not have fresh or frozen cranberries)

 

Directions:

1. Sift flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and baking soda into a large bowl. Using a pastry cutter, cut in butter until mixture is crumbly. (This can take three to five minutes by hand; it is very fun to do this way).

2. Add egg, orange peel and orange juice at once. Stir just until mixture is evenly moist.

3. Fold in cranberries and craisins that have been mixed with 1 Tbsp flour, this helps the fruit not to fall to the bottom of the loaf of bread. Spoon into a greased 9-5-3 inch loaf pan.

4. Bake at 350 for 1 hour and 10 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

 

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a comment